HomeCompanyBooksAuthorsPressForthcoming
 

HomeCompanyBooksAuthorsPressForthcoming

 

+Dog: The Pawsitive Dog Guide to Urban Dog Care
by Jenifer Vickery

Non-fiction
A comprehensive guide designed to address the challenges that city dog owners face. Jenifer Vickery is the owner and head-trainer of the Pawsitive Dog, a dog training center in Boston. She has been helping dogs and their owners develop lifelong partnerships since 1993.
Paperback
Spring 2004

Boyos: A Novel
by Richard Marinick

Fiction/Mystery
South Boston, Dorchester, Charlestown, and the North End. These are the neighborhoods that poplulate some of the greatest American crime fiction, from George V. Higgins, to Robert B. Parker, to Dennis Lehane. Richard Marinick knows these places as well as any of them. He grew up running with the Southie gangs during the infamous Whitey Bulger era, and learned to write during a ten-year prison stretch. He writes what he knows, and his shattering, utterly authentic first novel, Boyos, is the result.
Hardcover
Fall 2004

keto light plus

The MayDay: A Jack Merchant and Sarah Ballard Novel
by Bill Eidson

Fiction/Mystery
Veteran thriller writer Bill Eidson scored a hit with 2003's The Repo, the first installment of an acclaimed new series featuring ex-DEA Agent Jack Merchant adn boat repo contractor Sarah Ballard. In The Mayday, Eidson continues their intimate, fractious partnership as they search for a man's wife and children, missing on the high seas. No one believes Matt Coulter's story of a foundered ship, a life raft adrift at night, and a miraculous rescueturned kidnapping—least of all the police. Jack and Sarah dont' either, at first. But they reluctantly take the case, and the farther they follow its twists and turns, the more convinced they become that the missing family are still alive. At least for now.
Hardcover
Fall 2004

Stoned, Naked, and Looking in My Neighbor's Window: The Best Confessions from GroupHug.us
by Gabriel Jeffrey

Pop Culture/ Non-fiction
It's amazing what people will do for an audience. It's unbelievable what they will do under the cover of anonymity. Ehibitionism and voyeurism, sin and absolution: they're old, they're human adn they're satisfying. They drive everything from religion to commerce to government. Group Hug (www.grouphug.us) was started as a place for people to totally annonymously post their deepest, darkest secrets. Group Hug received an unbelievable 13 million hits in the first three months, and is growing rapidly. Open your inner voyeur to clandestine sex and personal sins, stolen money adn inner-office shenanigans.
Paperback
Fall 2004

The Beer Advocate: A Beer Guide for the Drinking Impaired
by Jason Alstrom and Todd Alstrom

Non-fiction
By the founders of the immensely popular beer culture web site beeradvocate.com, this will be the comprehensive guide for both the beer connoisseur and the beer-curious to keep on hand. www.beeradvocate.com
Paperback

This One Time
by Craig Taylor

Non-fiction
This One Time is a road-book in the tradition of Studs Terkel and Haruki Murakami. Canadian journalist Craig Taylor (New York Times Magazine, UK’s Guardian, Canada’s National Post) crisscrosses Europe and North America collecting stories, interviews and arcanum centered on
peoples’ recollection of significant moments. www.anonymousjuice.com
Hardcover

New In Paperback

Gin: The Much Lamented Death of Madam Geneva - The Eighteenth Century Gin Craze
by Patrick Dillon

Non-fiction
Gin is a fascinating history of a time when the social, economic, and political machinery of Britain was kept lubricated by this cheap, plentiful, and often deadly elixir. Brilliantly researched, this is a fast-paced chronicle of the making, selling, and regulating of a powerful intoxicant, and of its disastrous effects on ordinary people.
Paperback
Spring 2004

Blue Note Records
by Richard Cook

Non-fiction
Now in paperback, the widely acclaimed history of the most famous jazz label of them all. The pioneering label of jazz's golden age, Blue Note Records is still a conspicuous arbiter of style that continues to have influence. Richard Cook captures the subtle art of Rudy van Gelder's oft-imitated recording techniques, Francis Wolff's invaluable jazz photography, and Reid Miles' trend-setting album designs which set the standard that became the classic symbol of the best in jazz.
Paperback
Spring 2004

The Repo
by Bill Eidson

A Kate's Mystery Books Selection
Fiction/Mystery
Ex-DEA Agent Jack Merchant is living out his precarious early retirement on the docs of Charlestown, Mass., surrounded by the revenge-minded dealers and punks he used to put away. All he's got is his sloop, the Lila, but soon enough he gets a visit from the repo. An exciting thriller, this is the first in a new series featuring Jack Merchant and Sarah Ballard.
Paperback
Spring 2004

Hitchhiker: A Biography of Douglas Adams
by M. J. Simpson

Nonfiction/Biography
Don't panic! Hitchhiker is now in paperback! Pack your towel, pour yourself a pan-galactic gargle blaster, and take off on a wild, no-holds-barred tour of the life and career of Douglas Adams, creator of the phenomenally successful Hitchhiker's Guide of the Galaxy. The Hitchhiker's novels were all major bestsellers in the United States and throughout the world. M. J. Simpson has proudced a rich, revealing chronicle of oen of the most wildly creative minds of our time.
Paperback
Fall 2004

Sex in the South: Unbuckling the Bible Belt
by Suzi Parker

Nonfiction/Sex
Moral repression often breed sexual creativity, and nowhere is that more true than in the South. Join Suzi Parker on a private journey to an eccentric side of sin where Southerners secretly (and not-so-secretly) defy sexual convention. In a region where town often have more churches than liquor stores, you'll encounter a host of unforgettable characters. It's the home to Swingers magazine, and to religious types who picket bookstores for peddling "obscenity" like The Joy of Sex. Suzi's frank, unapologetic style will certainly raise some eyebrows, covering everything from sex-toy parties to porn film sets. Her saucy shots of Southern sin are certain to entertain.
Paperback
Fall 2004

top

 

 

© 2002 Justin, Charles & Co. All rights reserved.